As noted in Jewish Merchants of Downtown Staunton, by Ruth Chodrow and Karen Lynne Johnston, Joseph Barth and Abraham Weinberg became business partners after consolidating their clothing stores in 1911. Their new store was located in the Hogshead and Alexander Building designed by T.J. Collins Architect and Son.
This commercial building with Classical Revival characteristics was designed with a three-part composition. The façade included an ornate classical cornice, a large segmental arch window opening with a keystone on the second floor, and masonry corner quoins. Prism glass transom panels surrounded by cast iron and terracotta trim, top the original curved glass, marble base storefront.
Prism glass is an architectural feature utilized to refract and reflect sunlight into the store. Many downtown buildings retain prison glass transoms although many are painted. Uncovering blocked prism glass and other windows not only enhances storefronts, but also allows the use of natural light to illuminate the customer experience and reduce energy costs.
This building also included significant interior details such as an ornate ceiling and a second-floor light well with a balcony.
By 1976, “modernization” had obscured the second-floor window glass and the flat awning-covered galvanized iron ornamental trim. The photos taken by HSF staff, document the demolition in 1981.