11 South Augusta Street

Posted on Oct 6, 2020

Built before 1870, this is a three story, two bay, brick, commercial structure with Italianate architectural details. A low, shed roof slopes to the East with parapet walls topped with glazed clay wall caps. The roof also includes an elevator penthouse.

The façade reads as elements of classical architecture. A highly decorative brick cornice rest above a frieze that includes inset diamond pattern grillwork with molded surrounds. A highly decorated terra cotta water table is located above pilasters separating the architrave and frieze. Between the second and third stories are a series of terra cotta plaques.

Third floor windows feature segmental arches with double hung sash including two over two lights. Second floor windows appear original featuring full arch headers with double hung sash including two over two lights. The window openings are located between pilasters emphasizing the vertical emphasis of the facade.

A modern polished metal and glass front indicates the storefront has been altered by replacing the storefront illustrated in historic photographs.

The building extends nearly half the block in depth. The south wall once included segmental arch window openings now filled with brick. Viewed from the interior, two over two double-hung sash wood windows are still in the openings.

The building is situated at the end of a series of commercial structures along the east side of Augusta Street dating to the same period. Along the south elevation of the building is Staunton’s unique Barristers Row, also dating to 1843. Across Barrister Row filling the end of the block, is the Historic Augusta County Courthouse.

Between 1904 and 1909, the street numbers changed from even to odd on the East side of Augusta. As depicted in the historical publication Staunton in 1901, the building housed O’Connell & Hogshead, Liquors.

Clemmer and Hogshead was in this location as noted in the Staunton Spectator in 1892.